IHEC Will Not Extend Date for Submitting Elections Candidates

Kurdistan 12:03 PM - 2024-03-31
 IHEC's logo with Kurdistan Parliament in the backgrownd. PUKMEDIA

IHEC's logo with Kurdistan Parliament in the backgrownd.

PUK Kurdistan Parliament Elections Kurdistan IHEC

The Iraqi Independent High Electoral Commission (IHEC), which is supervising the forthcoming Kurdistan Parliamentary Elections, declared that today, March 31, 2024, marks the final day for candidate submissions, with no possibility of an additional extension.

IHEC Spokesperson Jumana al-Ghalai informed PUKMEDIA that the deadline for submitting candidates for the next parliamentary elections, scheduled to take place on June 10 of this year, is today, March 31, 2024. 

"Earlier, the deadline was extended by three days, and today is the final day. There will be no further extension of the deadline, making today the last chance for parties to submit their candidates," stated Ghalai.

Saadi Ahmed Pire, the spokesperson for the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK), told PUKMEDIA that the names of candidates nominated by the PUK for the Kurdistan parliamentary elections in all four constituencies have been ready for 10 days and will now be submitted to the IHEC. 

"PUK President Bafel Jalal Talabani will appoint the leaders of the lists, and he will also oversee the entire campaign in the constituencies," Pire stated.

"30 percent of our candidates are women, as per the law," Pire said.

A total of 20 political parties, 2 coalitions, and 62 independent candidates were registered to take part in the forthcoming parliamentary elections throughout all four constituencies of Kurdistan. However, the current count of registered names of candidates indicate that only two coalitions, 10 parties, together with 54 independent candidates are taking part in the elections.

The Kurdistan Region has a total of 3,789,360 voters, out of whom over 2,900,000 have successfully registered in the biometric registration and are expected to take part in the elections in all four constituencies of Erbil, Sulaymaniyah, Duhok, and Halabja. 


see more

Most read

The News in your pocket


Logo Application

Play Store App Store Logo
The News In Your Pocket